Striker - 2010


Set in a Bombay ghetto in the mid ?80s and based on true-life accounts, Striker is a story of triumph of human spirit over indomitable odds.

Born into a poor family, Surya grows up with few luxuries. Poor health keeps him away from school and that is when his elder brother introduces him to carrom.

Quite similar to pool (conceptually), carrom is common among people from the middle and lower income groups in India. Precision and skill are vital to playing the game well; attitude and confidence are crucial to winning. The underground carrom scene has been breeding hustlers and gamblers for years.

Winning the Junior Carrom Championship at 12 is not enough to keep Surya?s fire for the sport burning through adolescence. Hopes for a job in Dubai replace the passion for carrom, as Surya grows into a young man.

Duped by a bogus overseas employment agency, Surya loses his hard earned money that he had saved for going to Dubai. Surya is forced to cross paths with Jaleel, who has his hands in illicit activities in the area for long. Feeding on the weaknesses of people, Jaleel was the self-proclaimed king of Malwani.

Reintroduced to Carrom by his childhood friend Zaid, this time to the hustling scene, Surya starts playing again. Being gypped of his hard-earned money by the man who had caused misery for many families, Surya decides to take on Jaleel on his turf.

His patience and cool attitude are Surya?s biggest strengths. But life has ways of testing even the strongest of men!

Striker is not about good versus evil. It is the story of a friendship, life in the city of dreams in the 80s, and of a game that is common but non-existent.

From the director of Main, Meri Patni Aur Woh and Main Madhuri Dixit Banna Chahti Hoon, and top-lining Siddharth Narayan (of Rang De Basanti fame), Striker is the story of a carrom player who grows up on the fringes of a criminal existence but does not succumb to it.

Cast & Crew

Chandan Arora
Chandan Arora
Shailendra Barve, Amit Trivedim Yuvan Shankar Raja, Swanand Kirkire
Jeetendra Joshi, Prashant Ingole, Nitin Raikwar, Swanand Kirkire

Copyright © 2016